The Fourth of July marks the day the U.S. declared independence from Great Britain more than two centuries ago. For us, it’s an excuse to pledge allegiance to all the things the nation stands for: life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. And we do it best by bleeding red, white, and blue at picnics, barbecues, firecracker shows, and the beach.

In the name of patriotism, we give you four chic outfit ideas to wear to your designated July 4 activity, starting with a “summer night” look (above) that’s perfect for gazing at fireworks, dining shoreside, or hitting a fete. We accessorized a pretty LWD with red and blue add-ons, complete with star-spangled sandals.

Shop the look: Rebecca Taylor dress, $595; rebeccataylor.com. Banana Republic belt, $24; bananarepublic.com. Clare Vivier clutch, $210; shoplesnouvelles.com. Loeffler Randall sandals, $175; madewell.com.

Fourth of July OutfitsCourtesy Photo (5)

For the beach: Take fashion cues from the flag and layer stripes over stars with a cover-up and bikini. To really get in the spirit, trade in your neutral floppy straw hat for one washed in red.

Shop the look: Modcloth hat, $12; modcloth.com. Pret-a-surf for J.Crew one-piece, $225; jcrew.com. Lemlem tunic, $225; lemlem.com. Ray-Ban aviators, $170; ray-ban.com. Steve Madden sandals, $70; stevemadden.com.

Fourth of July OutfitsCourtesy Photo (6)

For picnics or barbecues: Dress up a pair of easy chambray shorts with a silky cami. Add a dash of patriotic symbolism with starry studs and striped espadrilles.

Shop the look: Oliver Peoples sunglasses, $340; oliverpeoples.com. Tibi cami, $158; tibi.com. Michael Stars shorts, $108; michaelstars.com. Jacquie Aiche studs, $250; jacquieaiche.com. Abury backpack, $465; abury.net. Soludos espadrilles, $55; soludos.com.

Fourth of July OutfitsCourtesy Photo (6)

For the boat: Spending the day lounging or tanning on a yacht? Minimize the number of pieces with a jersey knit romper that you can layer over your bikini. Pack a lightweight knit in case of bitter breezes out on the open water.

Shop the look: Triangl bikini, $79; triangl.com. Amour Vert romper, $152; revolveclothing.com. Joie sweater, $258; joie.com. Nasty Gal panama hat, $50; nastygal.com. Illesteva sunglasses, $177; illesteva.com. Sperry Top-Sider boat shoes, $85; sperrytopsider.com.

Get more Fourth of July ideas here!